Get Real Estate License In Alabama
- You must first be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident alien, or legally present in the U.S.
- You must be at least 19 years of age.
- You must show proof of bona fide residency in any state in the U.S.
- You must have proof of high school graduation or the equivalent.
- You must not have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude.
- You must not have had a real estate application or license rejected or revoked in any state within the past two years.
- According to indeed.com, the Average base salary for a real estate agent in Alabama is $82,550 per year.
- Alabama has a License/Registration verification tool online, where you can look up active licenses to verify agent status.
- Real estate in Alabama is regulated by the Alabama Real Estate Commission (AREC)
Step One: Complete 60 hours of approved Pre-Licensing education
To start, you must successfully complete an approved 60 clock-hour Pre-Licensing course. Learn more about your package options here.
Step Two: Pass the course final exam.
Registration with the Alabama Real Estate Commission prior to your pre-licensing course exam is required to allow scheduling of the state license exam and issuing of a license.
This information is required to expedite the exchange of information among your instructor, the exam provider and the state of Alabama. You can register for your temporary ID here. You will be required to provide this number at the end of your pre-licensing course.
After you complete all the course materials, meet the minimum time requirement, and pass the practice exam, there is a course final exam. The minimum passing score is 70%. Licensees will have 6 months from the time they pass their course exam to pass their Alabama Real Estate Salesperson exam.
You must take the final exam in the presence of a proctor, and you’ll need to schedule an appointment with a proctor in advance. Find out more about our online proctoring here.
Step Three: Pass the Alabama Real Estate Salesperson Exam.
After passing the course final exam, you will take your Alabama licensing exam. The State portion of this exam consists of 40 questions with a 60-minute time allowance and the National portion consists of 100 questions with a 150-minute time allowance. For more information, see the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin.
Do you need help passing your Alabama real estate exam? The CE Shop also offers comprehensive Exam Prep tailored to Alabama. If you have any additional questions, visit our Alabama real estate exam frequently asked questions page.
Step Four: Select a sponsoring broker.
After passing your licensing exam, you must become associated with a current and active Alabama sponsoring broker. This broker will be a career and education mentor providing you with an inside view into the day-to-day operations of a real estate agent.
Here are tips when looking for the best real estate broker or team to work with in Alabama:
Step Five: Complete the application.
Within 90 days of passing your licensing exam, you must submit your official application and any applicable fees, as well as a fingerprint-based federal and state criminal background check. Once the application has been accepted, you'll be issued a temporary license. Information on the background check can be found here.
Step Six: Complete Post-Licensing.
Within the first 12 months of licensure, you must complete a 30-hour Post-Licensing course in order to be issued a permanent license. The Post-Licensing course must be completed along with the permanent license issued within the first 6 months in order to maintain an active license.
Registration with the Alabama Real Estate Commission is required prior to starting your post-licensing course. This information is required to expedite the exchange of information among your instructor, the exam provider and the state of Alabama.
You should already have a temporary ID number. You can also look up your temporary ID here. You will be required to provide this number at the start of your post-licensing course.
Alabama State Requirement Detail for Real Estate Post-Licensing Education
Hours Required By The State: 30 hours
Completion of the 30-hour post-licensing course is required for salespersons within the first 6 months of licensure for active licensees and within one year for inactive licensees. Individuals must also apply for an Original Salesperson License and have it issued before the expiration of the first 6-month period. Note: There is no post-license requirement for brokers.
Here are your online options for Alabama post-licensing online classes.
Alabama State Requirement Details for Real Estate Continuing Education
Renewal Date: 8/31 every even-numbered year
CE Due Date: 9/30 every even-numbered year
Hours Required: 15 hours every 24 months including 3 mandatory hours in Risk Management
- 3 hours – Mandatory hours
- 12 hours – Elective hours
Max Hours in a 24-Hour Period: Alabama real estate licensees will not receive credit for more than 9 hours of continuing education per day. Our online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.